Fuji Apple Chicken Salad

I have no idea why this salad is specifically the “Fuji” Apple Chicken Salad, but once you are enjoying the first bite, the thought doesnt linger.
I discovered this salad at Panera Bread, and if it werent almost $8 a plate, I could eat it for every meal. So as usual, I was inspired to find a mock salad dressing, and put all the other ingredients together myself. Therefore being able to eat it whenever the hell I want.

Once I started searching I found that I wasnt the only person trying to find a comparable White Balsamic Apple Vinaigrette. So it didnt take me long to find a recipe that I personally thought was the closest that anybody is gonna get. After making the dressing according the recipe I made a few adjustments. The dressing was super thin so I added some applesauce, and doubled the dijon mustard. Now, THAT is as close as anyone is gonna get to the real thing. Dressing, check.

After that it was a matter of cooking the chicken, and making the apple chips (since I forgot a bag of apple chips when I went grocery store). The apple chips didnt turn out nearly as crunchy as I wanted them to, but the flavor was really good. The chicken was simple. Season, sear, and simmer. Then putting the salad together..

Time to eat.

Fuji Apple Chicken Salad
(adapted from Panera Bread)

dressing
1 TBS white balsamic vinegar
1 TBS unsweetened apple sauce
2 TBS frozen apple juice concentrate
3 tea dijon mustard
1/4 tea onion powder
1/4 c. olive oil

chicken
2 boneless skinless chicken breast
2 TBS olive oil
1/3 c. chicken broth
poultry seasoning (I used McCormick’s chicken rub)
fresh lemon
salt/pepper to taste

2 romaine hearts
candied pecans
gorgonzola crumbles
sliced red onion
sliced roma tomato
apple chips

Method
– In a medium sized pan heat 2 TBS olive oil over medium/high heat
– season chicken with salt, pepper, and rub
– sear chicken 2 minutes on each side, squeezing lemon onto chicken before you turn
– reduce heat to medium/low and pour chicken broth over chicken, and simmer for 7-10 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink
-while chicken is simmering, whisk together all of the dressing ingredients
– after chicken is cooked through place it on a plate or cutting board and let it rest 10 min
– slice chicken and put your salad together however you so choose

Its a bit of work, but I think its well worth it.
You could always make extra chicken, and then you will have an excuse to eat this for a few meals!

Leave a Reply

