Potato Salad!

Oh my god. Potato Salad. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water. For a long time I have just been pulling this recipe out of my ass every time I want to make it, but now I finally had a reason to sit down, and write out the ingredients and the process so that the rest of you can enjoy this little gem.

I mean, I am not usually one to toot my own horn, but this potato salad is king. People LOVE it, which is convenient because it is so damn basic. There is one tiny little ingredient though that just takes its deliciousness over the top. That little secret is curry powder. Curry powder is nothing like the green or red curry you buy in a jar at the grocery store. Curry powder is actually a blend of several spices, ranging from coriander and turmeric to cinnamon, mustard seed, and cardamom. The number and variety of spices used depends on the brand, and of course the country the spice is bottled in. Its flavor is subtle, slightly smokey, and very nicely compliments the other flavors in the salad, and its inexpensive which is also a plus.

So, there you are. My secret is out, and as I said before, all the other ingredients are super basic and consist of celery, onion, pickles or relish, mustard, mayo etc. When it comes to the potatoes it doesnt much matter what kind you use, I prefer red potatoes, but whatever you have on hand is perfectly acceptable.

Now go. Make this recipe, and ENJOY!!

Em’s Potato Salad

6-8 medium potatoes
5 eggs, hard boiled
4 stalks of celery
1 medium white onion
4 pickles, chopped or 1/2 c. relish
1/2 c. mayo
1/2 c. plain greek yogurt
2 TBS dijon mustard
1 TBS yellow mustard
1 tea pepper
1 tea curry powder
1 tea lemon juice

Method
– chop potatoes and boil in a large pot with about 2 tea of salt for 7-10 min.
– place the eggs in a small pot covered with cold water, bring to a boil, and set timer for 10 min.
– chop all your veggies and place them in a large serving bowl
– add the rest of the ingredients to the veggies, and give it a good stir
– rinse eggs off in cold water, and strain potatoes
– peel and chop eggs and add along with the potatoes to the veggies and sauce
– cover and keep in the fridge until ready to serve

One Response to Potato Salad!

  1. Kyle says:

    I love the plate. Does that make me gay?

    Also, I think Kelly visits this blog more than she visits mine. Great. Thanks, Em.

Leave a Reply

