Burrito Guts, And A Snappy Marinade

Mmmm, burrito bowls. Or in my case, burrito plate.

My inspiration for these inside out burritos came from Chipotle. To be honest, there is not one thing I don’t love about Chipotle. I love that their food is always fresh. I love that they are the only “fast food” joint I know of that serves beer. I love that all their ingredients have just the right amount of character without being bland and boring, and without overloading your taste buds with a crazy amount of flavors. But mostly, I love that their ingredients are easy to recreate on my own.

I have perfected this amazing, extremely versatile marinade that makes creating the substantial part of a burrito bowl super easy. I use this marinade on veggies, shrimp, chicken, beef, pork, fish.. really anything you feel the need to marinade will work. A couple nights ago I did zucchini, yellow squash, sweet onion, mushrooms, green pepper, and sweet orange pepper.

The other significant ingredient of a burrito bowl is the rice. I make the rice with chicken broth, and the liquid from a can of mild Rotel instead of water. No fuss, goooood flavor.
Oh, and lets not forget the guacamole. I wont actually write out a recipe for this because all I do is dice a large avocado, a roma tomato, a couple green onions, and half a fresh jalapeno. I smash all these together and add 1 or 2 key limes, white pepper, cumin and viola, guac.

When it comes to the garnishing of your burrito bowl dont hesitate to experiment. Some of my favorite toppings are black bean and corn salsa, fresh mango, fresh cilantro, queso, and fresh cabbage. Have fun experimenting, and enjoy!!

Anything Marinade

1/4 c. olive oil
1/4 c. orange or pineapple juice
1/4 c. lime juice
1 green onion stalk
2 cloves garlic
1 medium onion
1 small chipotle pepper in adobo, as well as a spoonful of adobo
a couple splashes of apple cider vinegar
a handful a fresh cilantro
2 tea cumin

Method

– blend all ingredients together in a blender on high for a minute or so.
– let meat/veggies marinate for at least an hour
(just remember, the longer the better)
– prepare meat/veggies however you prefer

Leave a Reply

