Bbq Chicken and Tatoes, Oh My.

I know, Im a horrible leader. I havent written for days, and while my excuses are fairly reasonable, they are still excuses.
During our latest attempt at camping this weekend, I got food poisoning of some kind. Im pretty sure after not eating pork or beef for the last month, I actually poisoned myself with brats, hot dogs, hamburgers, and beer. Needless to say a full 48 hours went by where I did not even think about food, and when I finally did get my appetite back, I was HUNGRY.

Michael had been obsessing over grilled chicken for the last couple of days, so being the lovely wife and southern girl that I am, I took the challenge head on. I sort of cheated though and used Jack Daniels Honey Smokehouse barbeque sauce, but not without adding my own special little touch to the chicken, of course.
I made a dry rub with some cajun seasoning, cumin, ground ginger, white pepper, and onion powder, and let that on the chicken for about half an hour before I grilled it, and smothered it with sauce. The dry rub technique I stole from my dad. The spices hold the juices in the chicken, and make for a super moist piece of meat. I usually let the meat cook for 2 or 3 minutes on each side, and then start smothering on the sauce.
Once I had the chicken figured out, I ineviatbly needed a side dish, and in the fridge I discovered a couple bunches of broccoli that were close to the point of no return. I quickly decided that I wanted a broccoli cheese baked potato. Yum!
While I made an amazing homemade cheese sauce that started with a roux, and ended with some sharp cheddar cheese, I steamed the broccoli and baked the potatoes (in the microwave, I was such a cheater!!)
The whole process was simple, super quick, and tell me that doesnt look like it would hit the spot?!

Cheddar Cheese Sauce
2 TBS butter
2 TBS flour
1 1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
pinch of cayenne

Method
– melt the butter in a pan, on low heat, wait for the butter to bubble
– add the flour and turn the heat up to medium low heat, let flour cook for 1 or 2 minutes
– gradually add the milk about 1/4 c. at a time, and stir furiously to avoid lumps
– turn heat back down to low and let sauce thicken 2 or 3 minutes
– take sauce off heat, and add cayenne, and cheese, mix until chese is melted
– serve immediately

side note: Once you have made this sauce once or twice you will have a better idea of how to adjust the milk/cheese measurements.
If you want a thinner sauce add more milk, if you want a thicker sauce, add more cheese.

One Response to Bbq Chicken and Tatoes, Oh My.

  1. Kyle says:

    I think your camera takes fine pictures. Also, you rubbed the breasts? Yes.

Leave a Reply

