Stuffed Eggplant

I love it when Eggplant is in season and on sale at the grocery store I frequent. Last week it was a ridiculously cheap 49 cents a pound, and since Eggplants are almost all water, they weigh nothing, and they are just so damn beautiful, its hard to resist.
Standing there in the middle of the produce section, my mind was a flutter with all of the millions of ways I could use these beauties, but I didnt go crazy and buy their entire stock because I figured Michael wouldnt appreciate eating an Eggplant related dish every night for the next month.

My first instinct was to make Eggplant Parmesan, but then I considered my waistline, and decided to stuff the suckers full of protein and veggies. Of course, I still had to have the melted, bubbly cheese too, which honestly, might be the only thing I really love about Eggplant Parmesan in the first place.

Now, when it come to gutting an Eggplant its a bit of a pain in the ass because raw, they are pretty tough, and almost spongy. Ive found that its easiest if you take the tip of a knife and trace 1/2 inch in from the skin, and 1/2 inch down into the Eggplant before you attempt to scoop the insides out with a spoon. It doesnt really matter how well you keep the guts in tact because you will just be giving them a nice chop, and cooking them down, anyway. Here is my end result.

Looking at that picture, I think I might have added some Zucchini, and possibly some orange Bell Pepper, which I didnt include in the recipe.
As always, feel free to adapt this recipe with whatever veggies you prefer. Also, if you want a little more substance to this dish you could add some rice to the stuffing mixture.

enjoy!

One Response to Stuffed Eggplant

  1. Kyle says:

    I had eggplant when I was like 10, hated it, and swore I’d never eat it again. However, I saw an Eggplant Parm episode of Throwdown with Bobby Flay, and I must say, I’m changing my tune. This also looks worth trying, if for no other reason than the shit ton of cheese on top. Welcome back to the blogging world, by the way. Your cooking/blogging prowess was missed.

Leave a Reply

